Club stalwart David has his day at Cowm Reservoir run

ROYTON Road Runners turned out to honour one of their own at the annual Cowm Reservoir 5K trail race.

The event, organised by Andems Runners, is named after vice-president David Emmanuel, one of the longest-serving members.

A club spokesperson said: “David works tirelessly to research and promote future running and social events, to keep the membership informed, and to advise when asked on all club-related matters.

“He also maintains and updates the club’s website and email newsletter.

“David is truly the go-to guy for all things club-related and we are lucky to benefit from his unstinting service to RRRs.”

Proceeds from the race included Dr Kershaw’s Hospice and Whitworth CRUK. Halifax Harrier Will Smith won in 16 mins 29 secs.

Club members compete in the club championship at different distances over the season.

There was good representation at the English Half Marathon in Warrington and the Rochdale Half Marathon including 56 who signed up for the ‘Dale race.

The start was on the esplanade with a fairly flat route up to and along Rochdale canal to Littleborough, then up to and around Hollingworth Lake and back.

The weather, cool and dry with little wind, was great for longer distance running and Rob James (second overall), Jarrod Gritt (third), Michael Wildbore, Shane Reading, Richard Cummins and Neil Brock took the men’s team first prize.

Bury AC’s Ben Coop won overall from 497 finishers with a time of 73 mins 25 secs with Rob 32 secs behind and Jarrod a further 45 secs adrift.

Rochdale Harrier Carly Needham – eighth overall – took the ladies title in 81:25. Janet Jobey was the first RRR finisher in 99:14.

The RRR cup is the club’s annual knock-out competition when runners are drawn against each other and arrange to run head-to-head at Oldham’s parkrun.

Phil Austin beat Tony Kane and now goes through to the final where he will meet the winner of the other semi-final between Owen Flage and Helen Radcliffe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.