Crompton Cricket Club looks ahead to debut season in Lancashire League

CROMPTON Cricket Club’s debut season in the Lancashire League will be a voyage of discovery.

The Glebe Street club is one of seven former CLL sides to join an enlarged Lancashire League.

The Lancashire League will operate two divisions of 12 for the 2019 season.

For 2018, however, each of the 24 clubs will play each other once to determine the make up of the divisions for the following year.

It is a format welcomed by Crompton as secretary Stephen Wright explained: “It gives every club the opportunity to stake their claim to be in the top division.

“Clubs play each other once, either home or away, and it is the fairest way of determining the make-up of the divisions.

“We are looking forward to visiting new grounds and playing against new clubs, though we will still have some familiar games against former CLL rivals.”

Crompton have 12 home fixtures and 11 away in the league due to the uneven number of games.


15: Great Harwood (H)
22: Burnley (A)
29: Littleborough (H)

5: Bacup (A)
6: Worsley Cup, first round
12: Worsley Cup, first round reserve date
13: Rochdale (A)
19: Todmorden (A)
26: Accrington (H)
27: Worsley Cup, second round

3: Haslingden (A)
9: Rawtenstall (H)
16: Worsley Cup, quarter final
17: Middleton (A)
23: Worsley Cup, quarter final reserve date
24: Church (H)
30: Darwen (A)

7: Nelson (H)
8: Worsley Cup, semi final
14: Worsley Cup, semi-final reserve date
15: Rishton (A)
21: Lowerhouse (H)
28: Milnrow (A)

4: Walsden (H)
5: Worsley Cup, final
11: Worsley Cup, final reserve date
12: Enfield (A)
18: Ramsbottom (H)
25: Clitheroe (A)
26: East Lancs (H)

2: Colne (A)
9: Norden (H)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *