200 not out for runner Bernie

Bernie Goodwin reached a milestone in Royton Road Runners’ history as part of a 37-strong team at the Tatton 10K road race.

Bernie Goodwin

And the celebration of his 200th club race was marked with a bottle of bubbly.

Bernie reached his double ton with a 25th place overall out of 620 finishers. He was also eighth RRR finisher in 40 minutes 56 seconds.

The race was won by Dee Striders’ Edd Flynn in 35 mins 45 secs while Jarrod Gritt was top Royton runner in fourth place in 37:02.

Charlotte Alston was top lady finisher in 28th place overall in a time of 41:16. Janet Jobey, 67th overall, was top female RRR in a time of 44:49.

Meanwhile, Nathan Hilditch of Oldham and Royton AC won the 2018 Oldham 10K road race in 37 mins 56 seconds. Sharon Johnstone was the leading female in 43:42.

Results (RRR only) overall with position in brackets:

Jarrod Gritt (4th), 37 mins 02 secs; Rob Battye (6th) 37:27; Shane Reading (7th) 37:43; Michael Fleming (12th), 39:12; Dave Peart (17th), 39:49; Neil Brock (19th), 40:16, David Ellis (24th), 40:47, Bernie Goodwin (25th), 40:56; David Emanuel (26th), 41:02; Elliot Stone (29th), 41:21; Matthew Kilburn (43rd), 42:50; Matt Kershaw (58th), 43:56; David Crewe (63rd), 44:23; Janet Jobey (67th), 44:49; Robert Nixon (68th), 44:51; Alex Critcher (73rd), 45:21; Bryan Lawton (75th), 45:20; Jason Keast (88th), 46:20; Garry Bower (96th), 46:49; Nicholas Mallon (106th), 47:30; Ronnie Quinn (110th), 47:40; Stephen Goddard (115th), 47:57; Val Kilburn (129th), 48:50; Adam Farrell (141st), 49:50; Paul Cooke (142nd), 49:39; John Fay (169th), 51:07; Gary Smith (182nd), 51:42; Gary Marshall (187th), 52:06; Gail Shaw (246th), 55:21; Lynda Brookes (310th), 58:14; Elaine Whitehead (371st), 1:00:49; Mike Keating (385th), 1:01:12; Bernadette Ball (404th), 1:0158; Sarah Butler (416th), 1:02:21; Dave Watt (448th) 1:03:56; Emma Bower (449th), 1:03:59; Sally Crewe (460th), 1:05:04.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *